Is this my idea of the perfect kitchen? Not even close.
My husband worked very hard to get me appliances that I would like. In order to get approved by the USDA for our house loan, he had to put an oven in the house. There were no appliances left in the house from the previous owners. He drove his butt up to Provo in the middle of a snowstorm to get me a new oven. He got me a brand new black flat top. Although I would have preferred gas, I love this stove. It cooks a lot hotter then I was used to though, so that took some getting used to.
We were using a small mini fridge for a while, about a month. Then I came across an ad in the Millard County Chronicle for a storage unit sale at the Delta roller rink. This is where we found our refrigerator. A new Hotpoint stainless steel side by side for $400. A little more then I anticipated spending, but to buy it new would have been around $1300.
I have no dishwasher, I have never been without a dishwasher in all my life. I often don't start doing the dishes until I start cooking dinner at night. So if you visit during the day, you can expect to see a sink full of dishes just calling my name. I often joke that we have a dishwasher, it is just the Deluxe Michelle model.
Some of the tile is cracked, the walls need to be painted, I need a light fixture put up, and I pretty much hate the finish on our cabinetry.
There is a breakfast bar, but we never use it as such. It is my designated dish drying area. There are always dishes until dinner, and that means I don't put away last night's clean dishes until then either.
My goals for the kitchen? Rip down the breakfast bar and the wall behind it, creating an open floor plan. Also, get rid of the wall separating the kitchen and dining room.
Stain the kitchen cabinets to a dark cherry.
Install new counter tops, and retile the floors with a dark color.
I would also rip out the carpet of the dining room and sitting room and tile those the same as the kitchen.
I don't know if I would add a dishwasher or not, most likely not. As much as I complain about it, I don't really mind doing the dishes, and honestly the get cleaner when I wash them by hand anyway.
No comments:
Post a Comment